GCOI Leadership Award presentation_edited.jpg

MSSBTA Transformation
Leader of the Year

The Transformation Leader of the Year award program recognizes the achievements of Arizona’s transformation leaders who have driven significant change in their organization.

RECOGNIZING Successful Transformation

Each year, MSS Business Transformation Advisory presents its MSSBTA Transformation Leader of the Year award in partnership with the Arizona Technology Council and the Arizona Commerce Authority at the annual Governor’s Celebration of Innovation gala event. 

This award recognizes a leader or organization that has achieved significant and measurable transformational change in the previous calendar year.  Nominations for the following sample of organizations are encouraged:

•​ Emerging/Hyper-Growth Companies – $5M to $49M in revenue​

• Mid-Size Companies – $50M to $999M in revenue​

• Enterprise Companies – over $1B in revenue​

• Non-Profit Organizations​

• Public Sector Agencies – municipal, county, and state agencies​

• Higher Education – public or private institutions​

• K-12 Education – public or private institutions​

Qualified nominees show the traits and character of a transformational leader. Nominated organizations should be in operation for three years or more, headquartered or have significant operations in Arizona, and have achieved measurable transformative outcomes in the previous calendar year.​

Blurred Motion
Nominate a Transformational Leader

Thanks for submitting!


10 Traits of a Transformation Leader

We take the process of selecting recipients of the Transformation Leader of the Year awards seriously. In addition to the criteria described above, there are 10 key traits all award winners exemplify.

Business Woman Smiling
  • Humble

  • Accountable

  • Risk Takers

  • Decision Makers

  • Share in Organizational Consciousness

  • Inspirational

  • Open-Minded

  • Adaptable

  • Innovative

  • Visionary

Past Winners of the Transformation Leader of the Year Award

2021 Recipient


Howard Stewart

Howard Stewart is the President and CEO of AGM Container Controls in Tucson, Arizona. Howard tirelessly champions the concept that businesses should provide College Tuition Reimbursement (CTR) to their entire workforce. He encourages his employees, family, and friends to pursue the mind-opening experience of higher education, and regularly delivers presentations in both Metro Tucson and Metro Phoenix on the importance of businesses providing such CTR.

2021 Nominees

Dr. Cara Christ | Executive Director,

AZ Dept of Health

Lev Gonick | CIO, Arizona State University

Lloyd Hayes | Founder and Executive Director, Million Dollar Teacher Project

Carrie Kelly | Executive Director, Arizona Association for Economic Development

Dr. Jim Ratcliff | President and CEO,

Rowpar Pharmaceuticals

Douglas Sylvester | Dean,

O'Connor College of Law at ASU

Amy Walters | Assistant VP of Technology Operations, Cancer Treatment Centers of America

2020 Recipient


Dr. Elizabeth "Betsy" Cantwell

Dr. Elizabeth “Betsy” Cantwell leads the University of Arizona’s Office for Research, Innovation and Impact. She is responsible for expanding the university’s capacity for knowledge creation and discovery; integrating efforts by faculty, students, staff and executive leaders to move inventions and technologies to the marketplace; increasing the university’s connectivity with external collaborators; spearheading industry and public partnerships; and increasing total research funding.

2020 Nominees

Joan MacMaster | CEO, Desert Angels

Tim Roemer | CISO, State of Arizona

2019 Recipient


Paul Green

With more than 20 years of IT experience, Paul Green‘s technology-infused leadership adds exciting dimension to his role as Chief Development Officer. Paul joined Angel MedFlight Worldwide Air Ambulance as CIO in 2014 to strengthen the company’s IT capability in support of its continued growth. With a focus on the patient experience, Paul’s innovative influence is evident in everything from the company’s workflow to its online presence. In 2018, Paul was named the Chief Development Officer to lead the company’s technology and business development initiatives.

2019 Nominees

Kathryn Chandler | Executive Director,

West Valley Connect

Tim Grein | CEO, Walbar Engine Components

Dr. Robert Trenschel | CEO, Yuma Regional Medical Center


Transformational Leader Interviews